GIANTS claim NNSW Awards

It was a stellar night for GIANTS Netball at the 2018 Netball NSW State Dinner on Saturday evening with GIANTS attacker Jo Harten named the best player in the state claiming the Marilyn Melhuish OAM Medal – SSN Player of the Year Award and retired GIANT Bec Bulley and daughter Indie Bulley featured in the Judy Dunbar Media Award for photograph of the year.

The State Dinner, which this year took place at Rooty Hill RSL, celebrates the best players, coaches, officials and volunteers in the New South Wales netball community.

Harten picked up the Marilyn Melhuish OAM Medal, given to the best player from the combined rosters of Netball NSW’s two professional franchises; GIANTS Netball and the NSW Swifts.

It capped off a stellar 2018 for the England international which also saw her claim a Commonwealth Games gold medal in April, and the GIANTS’ MVP, Members’ Player of the Year and Players’ Player Awards in August.

Harten’s award was one of eight categories on the night which celebrated another fantastic year for netball across NSW.

“From celebrating the 50th hosting of our State and State Age Championships to GIANTS Netball Head Coach Julie Fitzgerald overseeing her 300th elite game, it has been a year of memorable achievements,” Louise Sullivan, President of Netball NSW, said.

“Over 1 million people tuned in to watch this year’s Suncorp Super Netball Grand Final, highlighting just how engrained the sport has become in the Australian sporting psyche, and around NSW our local courts are jam-packed on weekends as young and old come together and serve their communities collectively and commercially. 

“As we head towards our 90th year in 2019 we have never been in better health, however, it is vital that we keep evolving and learning to ensure we remain at the forefront of what is a very competitive sports market in NSW.”

Richard Dobson was awarded the Judy Dunbar Media award for Photograph of the Year. Capturing a special moment between retired GIANT Bec Bulley and daughter Indie Bulley.

2018 Netball NSW Award Recipients

Anne Clark BEM Service Awards: Tracey Connolly (Campbelltown District Netball Association), Lyn Hahn (Camden & District Netball Association), Elizabeth Konza (Blue Mountains Netball Association), Maureen Nation (Young & District Netball Association), Catherine Walls (Grafton Netball Association)

Marilyn Melhuish OAM Medal – SSN Player of the Year: Jo Harten (GIANTS Netball)

Marj Groves AM Scholarship: Latika Tombs (Manly Warringah Netball Association)

Nance Kenny OAM Medal – Premier League Player of the Year: Amy Wild (Central Coast Heart)

Lynn Quinn OAM Bench Official Award: Margot Paterson (Northern Suburbs Netball Association)

Neita Matthews OAM Umpires Award: Jessica Clay (Ku-ring-gai Netball Association)

Margaret Corbett OAM Coaches Award: Amber Cross (Wyong Netball Association)

Judy Dunbar Media Awards: Matthew Findlay, Central Western Daily (Community Media Excellence), Brittany Carter, ABC Grandstand (Best Feature), Richard Dobson, News Ltd (Best Photograph), Sydney Morning Herald (Best Overall Media Coverage).

2018 Hall of Fame Inductions: Megan Anderson, Mo’onia Gerrard OAM

Heritage Hall of Fame Inductions: Netball NSW State Championships, Netball NSW State Age Championships